Views
2 weeks ago

WORLD OF INDUSTRIES 08/2018

WORLD OF INDUSTRIES 08/2018

HANNOVER MESSE

HANNOVER MESSE WORLDWIDE CeMAT WORLDWIDE DISCOVER NEW HORIZONS. NEW MARKETS. NEW LEADS. NEW CUSTOMERS. → hannovermesse.de/worldwide Global Fairs. Global Business.

EDITORIAL Editorial Directors: Dirk Schaar, Email: d.schaar@vfmz.de Winfried Bauer, Email: w.bauer@vfmz.de Business model based on “extraterrestrial” logistics Dear readers, The videos of the launch of the Falcon Heavy cargo rocket and Falcon-9 transport rocket were a real hit on YouTube. The company behind these videos was Space X founded by the visionary but controversial entrepreneur – Elon Musk. But what was so spectacular about these launches? Although launching rockets into orbit is nothing extraordinary, the fact that – after disconnecting, the drive rocket stages of the powerful transport rockets accurately landed on a ship platform in the middle of the ocean without any damage meaning that they can be reused – certainly is. According to Musk, the drives can be reused up to 100 or rather 1000 times making it possible to Is Elon Musk establishing a material flow chain into space? launch rockets every 24 hours. But why would you need to launch such a high number of rockets? Is space tourism really taking off? Not quite. The more obvious answer is logistics. The entrepreneur’s recyclable rocket concept is based on the prerequisite for a continuous and particularly cost-effective flow of materials from Earth into orbit and beyond. If his concept becomes a reality in the near future, he would be an indispensable enabler and business partner implementing ambitious NASA projects to develop sites on the moon and Mars, for example. Currently Musk has no significant competitors in this field thus ensuring he has a monopoly. Manfred Weber -Editorm.weber@vfmz.de Editorial board: Peter Becker (Editor-in-chief), Email: p.becker@vfmz.de Nicole Steinicke (Editor-in-chief), Email: s.steinicke@vfmz.de Manfred Weber, Email: m.weber@vfmz.de Svenja Stenner, Email: s.stenner@vfmz.de Assistant editors: Svenja Stenner, Petra Weidt Design/Layout: Anna Schätzlein, Sonja Daniel, Anette Fröder, Mario Wüst Epaper designer: Katja Rüdell Managing editor: Winfried Bauer Publishing house: Vereinigte Fachverlage GmbH Lise-Meitner-Str. 2, 55129 Mainz, Germany Commercial Register No.: HRB 2270, District Court of Mainz VAT-ID: DE149063659 Privacy Statement: ds-vfv.vfmz.de Managing director: Dr. Olaf Theisen Publishing director: Dr. Michael Werner, Email: m.werner@vfmz.de Correspondent India: Sushen Haresh Doshi M.Sc. Advertising sales director: Beatrice Thomas-Meyer Email: b.thomas-meyer@vfmz.de Advertising sales manager: Oliver Jennen, Email: o.jennen@vfmz.de Andreas Zepig, Email: a.zepig@vfmz.de Sales representatives Austria Heinz-Joachim Greiner Email: verlagsbuero-greiner@vfmz.de France Marc Jouanny Email: marc-jouanny@wanadoo.fr Great Britain, Ireland Roberto Tondina Email: roberto@ts-communications.co.uk Italy, Switzerland Hermann Jordi, Email: info@jordipublipress.de Sweden, Finland, Norway Malte Mezger Email: verlagsbuero-mezger@vfmz.de Taiwan Amy Liu Email: amy@hf-taiwan.tw USA, Canada, Mexico Patrick Venezia Jr Email: verlagsbuero-venezia@vfmz.de Advertising disposition: Annemarie Benthin, Email: a.benthin@vfmz.de Helge Rohmund, Email: h.rohmund@vfmz.de Nevenka Islamovic, Email: n.islamovic@vfmz.de In cooperation with: Hannover Fairs International GmbH Messegelände, 30521 Hannover, Germany Internet: www.world-of-industries.com WORLD OF INDUSTRIES 8/2018 3

E-PAPER KIOSK:

WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - MOTION, DRIVE & AUTOMATION 1/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - MOTION, DRIVE & AUTOMATION 2/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - MOTION, DRIVE & AUTOMATION 3/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - MOTION, DRIVE & AUTOMATION 4/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - MOTION, DRIVE & AUTOMATION 5/2017
Automation Technologies 1/2016
Automation Technologies 2/2014
Automation Technologies 2/2015
Automation Technologies 2/2016
Automation Technologies 3/2014
Automation Technologies 3/2015
Automation Technologies 3/2016
Automation Technologies 4/2014
Automation Technologies 4/2015
Automation Technologies 4/2016
Automation Technologies 5/2014
Automation Technologies 5/2015
Automation Technologies 5/2016
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - Industrial Automation 1/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - Industrial Automation 2/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - Industrial Automation 3/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - Industrial Automation 4/2017
WORLD OF INDUSTRIES - Industrial Automation 5/2017